Crowd Sourcing A (Working) Arab Spring Reading List for Media & Communication

Inspired by a conversation on a friend’s Facebook page, David Brake and I have begun compiling media and communication related readings published on the topic of the “Arab Spring”. While there is much popular literature, academic publishing is notoriously slow and pieces are only now beginning to drip out. One way of catching these is, of course, a Google Scholar Alert on the Arab Spring which I have had set up for some time (key terms “Arab Spring” and “media”).

However as of today,  David and I have begun compiling academic readings in a Google Doc A (Working) Arab Spring Reading List that is accessible to anyone. We are open to additional suggestions for readings and also recognise the limits of the current format, especially when the literature begins to mushroom. For now, however, it is a start.

EDIT: David Brake has also started a Zotero list too: https://www.zotero.org/groups/arabspringmedia/items

Get in touch in case you know something that is missing.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Crowd Sourcing A (Working) Arab Spring Reading List for Media & Communication

  1. Great! Do you work this list into your teaching as well?

    • I havent as of yet. However, I will be teaching an MA-level course on Occupy in January and will likely do one class on the Arab Spring so can use the list. Aspects of the Arab Spring are also discussed in the Protest Camps project (http://www.protestcamps.org) as well. Lastly, I had a student do a direct study with me on the Arab Spring over the summer which gave me a chance to use the list as well. However, we started this list as, for some reason, nobody was compiling the resources and we thought it was important to do so. Hope people find it useful!

  2. Definitely useful. And I’m a big fan of sharing resources. I’m a Zotero user but I have yet to compile specific lists and make them public. I’m inspired. 😉

    • David Brake put some stuff on Zotero but not all yet. Agreed that Zotero is great, I am starting to use it for other things. If you want to help move things to Zotero, I ma sure many people would appreciate it! 😉

  3. Radamis Zaky

    it is very beneficial list, I would suggest if it possible to have other parallel list on the Occupy Movement that took place in the western hemisphere as well

Leave a comment